News TR Zeliang appointed new Nagaland CM   Email this page
Print this page

KOHIMA: T R Zeliang of Naga People’s Front was today appointed as the new Chief Minister of Nagaland following the resignation of Neiphiu Rio from the post.
Nagaland Governor, Ashwani Kumar, appointed Zeliang as the new Chief Minister and would administer the oath of office and secrecy to him and the new Council of Ministers tomorrow.

Zeliang had staked claim to form the new government consequent upon the resignation of incumbent Chief Minister Rio, who won the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland on an NPF ticket with a margin of over 4 lakh votes.

The Governor appointed Zeliang to be the next Chief Minister by virtue of powers vested on him by clause (1) of Article 164 of the Constitution, a Raj Bhavan release said.

Kumar, while seeking Zeliang’s advice on the constitution of the new Council of Ministers, will administer the oath of office and secrecy tomorrow at 9.45 AM.

Zeliang had been holding the charge of Minister for Planning and Coordination and other departments in the Rio government. (More)

Zeliang, accompanied by Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Kuzholuzo Nienu, Naga People’s Front (NPF) president Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu and Secretary General KG Kenye, staked his claim to form the government soon after Rio resigned this morning.

He submitted the two resolution adopted by NPF Legislature Party and Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) Legislature Party unanimously electing him as the leader, Raj Bhavan sources said.

“Consequent upon the resignation of the Council of Ministers (CoM) headed by Neiphiu Rio today, I stake claim to form the next CoM headed by me,” Zeliang said in his letter to the governor.

“I request that I may please be invited to form the next CoM at the earliest,” he said.

Rio resigned from the chair following his victory in the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls.

“I hereby tender the resignation of the Council of Ministers of Nagaland Government being headed by me with immediate effect,” Rio said in the resignation letter submitted to the Governor.

In the 60-member state Assembly, DAN comprises 52 MLAs while opposition Congress has only eight MLAs.–PTI

Home About Us Jobs Comments Contact Us Advertise Terms of Service Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1995-2016, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
INDOlink, Planet Bollywood, "Best of Both Worlds", "Linking Indians Worldwide" are trademarks of, Inc.